Ainaži is a town in the north of the coast of Vidzeme near the Estonian border, which was formed on the site of an old Libyan fishing village. The village was so lonely that Libyan fishermen called it Ainagi (Lonely) in their language. Later, the settlement was renamed Ainaži. For the first time in official documents, Ainaži was mentioned already in 1564 as the property of the crown.
Ainaži is known for its famous sailors - Veide, Miķelsons, Jānis Asaras and Remberts Rungainis, who made a great contribution to the development of the town. The flourishing of landscapes was especially promoted by the first Latvian maritime school, which was founded in 1864 by long-distance sailing captain Kristians Dāls with the support of wealthy landscapers at the initiative of Krišjānis Valdemārs.
In 1926, Ainazis were granted city rights.
Today, Ainaži is a charming seaside town with a long history, which is permeated by the proximity of the sea, seafaring and the brilliance it brings.